TECHNICAL PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS' OVERVIEW

On behalf of the Technical Program Committee, we welcome you to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for the 2017 Asia Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association Annual Summit and Conference (APSIPA ASC 2017). The conference has attracted papers on all aspects of signal and information including processing, recognition, classification, communications, networking, computing, system design, security, implementation, and technology with applications to scientific, engineering and social areas.

This year, we received 433 submissions (247 regular session papers and 186 special session papers) from authors of 27 countries. For fair review of these submissions, APSIPA Technical Committee Chairs (http://www.apsipa.org/TC/index.html) and Technical Program Co-Chairs have invited 283 reviewers. We are pleased to let you know that the quality of the submissions was outstanding, and around 70% of the total regular submissions (174 submissions) are accepted to be presented in the conference. Like past APSIPA conferences, many special sessions are organized which address recent hot topics in signal processing area. We thank to 68 special session organizers, who organized 33 sessions. In summary, we have 174 regular session papers and 175 special session papers.

To introduce and discuss the state-of-the-art signal and information processing technologies, we prepared 7 tutorials and 1 workshop, 6 invited overview talks, 4 keynote speech, educational forum, and industry forum. We would like to express our appreciation to the keynote speakers, forum guest speakers, invited overview session speakers, tutorial presenters, reviewers, session chairs and all authors for their contributions to APSIPA ASC 2017.

We hope that you will enjoy the technical program of APSIPA ASC 2017 and enjoy the Kuala Lumpur which presents the most popular and iconic attractions including the Petronas Twin Towers, the colossal Buddha image found outside Batu Cave, and much more.

APSIPA ASC 2017 Technical Program Co-Chairs



Supavadee Aramvith (Chulalongkorn University)



Gwo Giun Lee (National Cheng-Kung University)



Jiunyin Guo (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)



Akira Hirabayashi (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)



Dong Wang (Tsinghua University, China)



Toshihisa Tanaka (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan)



Sung C. Jun (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, S.Korea)



Kazunori Hayashi (Kyoto University, Japan)



Andy Khong (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)



Huanqiang Zeng (Huaqiao University, China)



Dennis Wong (Heriot-Watt University Malaysia)